Calling All Screenwriters!

by Evelyn J. Mocbeichel

It doesn’t seem that long ago that the Hampton International Film Festival (HIFF) was here celebrating its 25th anniversary. But believe it or not, submissions are now being accepted for the 2018 Screenwriters Lab. So if you have that script you have just finished or are putting the final touches on, this announcement will surely be of interest. For the submissions, HIFF is seeking a broad selection of screenplays addressing a variety of subject matters. The following deadlines for submissions are: November 28, 2017 (Early bird), December 12, 2017 (Regular), January 2, 2018 (Late), and January 11, 2018 (Extended WAB). The submission link and fee information can be found at: Submission fees range from $50-$85.

The lab will take place in East Hampton New York, April 6-8, 2018. Going into its 18th year, the Lab develops emerging screenwriting talent by pairing established writers & creative producers with up-and-coming screenwriters (chosen by HIFF in collaboration with key industry contacts). The mentors advise in a one-on-one creative setting while additional events bring the participants together with board members, the local artistic community, and other friends of the festival. With scripts from past writers produced year after year, the Lab continues to be an inspiring and safe place for artists to find and hone their creative vision. A number of recent projects in the Lab have gone on to be produced and distributed and to screen at festivals around the world such as Sundance, South by Southwest, Karlovy Vary, Locarno and the Los Angeles Film Festival. Selected highlights include Short Term 12 with Brie Larson and John Gallagher, which won the Grand Jury and Audience Award at SXSW, The Discoverers starring Griffin Dunne, Little Accidents featuring Elizabeth Banks and Chloe Sevigny, Fort Bliss starring Michelle Monaghan & Ron Livingston, and 2010 Sundance Film Festival Closing Night film Twelve starring Ellen Barkin and Emma Roberts. Recent mentors at the lab include Alex Dinelaris (Birdman); Nicole Perlman (Guardians of the Galaxy); Debra Granik (Winter’s Bone); Oren Moverman (The Messenger, Love and Mercy); Michael Cunningham (The Hours, Evening); James Vanderbilt (Zodiac, Truth); Robin Swicord (The Curious Case of Benjamin Button); Mark Heyman (Black Swan, The Skeleton Twins); Rob Siegel (The Wrestler, The Founder); Anna Boden and Ryan Fleck (Half Nelson, Mississippi Grind); David Siegel (What Maisie Knew); Hawk Ostby (Children of Men, Iron Man); Billy Frolick (Madagascar); J.D. Zeik (Ronin); J. Robin Baitz (People I Know, The Substance of Fire); Ted Griffin (Oceans Eleven); Whit Stillman (Metropolitan, Love and Friendship); Ira Sachs (Little Men, Love is Strange); Andy Bienen (Boys Don’t Cry); Jeff Sharp (Producer, The Yellow Birds, Evening); Lawrence Konner (The Sopranos, Boardwalk Empire); Maria Maggenti (The Incredibly True Adventures of Two Girls in Love); Sabrina Dhawan (Monsoon Wedding, Cosmopolitan); Gregory Widen (Highlander, Backdraft); Mark Christopher (54); Maggie Greenwald (Songcatcher, Ballad of Little Jo); Laurie Collyer (Sherrybaby); Lawrence Lasker (Sneakers, War Games); Chap Taylor (Changing Lanes, National Treasure); and Dylan Kidd (Roger Dodger, P.S.).