Poetry Corner with Larry Spiro

Fascinating Bug!

The four stages of the monarch butterfly life cycle are the egg, the larvae (caterpillar), the pupa (chrysalis), and the adult butterfly. These four iterations are actually four different butterflies appearing as four stages in approximately one year. The iteration starts over again with stage one of generation “next.”

I was startled by a butterfly.

I slid out of bed into the morn
to run on trails that were barely worn.

Stress, and sweat, seeped slowly out of me.
I ran the trails with alacrity,

Dawn began flickering low then high.
I was startled by a butterfly.

It floated in harmony with me
moving with staccato and whimsy.

It fluttered then blended into sight
playing with the rays of morning light.

The monarch was a regal vision
of a 4 staged mystic transition.

It swooned a cocoon that depended,
a metamorphosis that transcended

a bug newly near angel complete
with wings of tapestry where were feet.

I rose excited to run again
To refresh from without and within.

Once more startled by the butterfly
I passed over crawlies stridden by.